Guilford County is governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners; elected by district and at-large to serve four-year terms. Commissioners’ terms are staggered and general elections are held in November of even-numbered years. In December of each year, the Board elects a Chairman and Vice Chairman to serve for the upcoming year.

The Commissioners are responsible for adopting the annual budget and establishment of the property tax rate. They adopt ordinances, or local laws, that govern issues such as development, noise, and animal control. Commissioners are also responsible for appointing volunteers to serve on various advisory Boards and Commissions.

The Board of Commissioners meet the first and third Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Commissioners’ Meeting Room located on the second floor of the Old County Courthouse, 301 W. Market St., Greensboro. Meeting days and locations may be adjusted due to holidays or additional meetings/work sessions may be added, so please check the annual meeting schedule for updates. All meetings are open to the public.

Commissioners


Alan Branson

Alan Branson portrait2018 Board Chair
effective 12/06/17

DISTRICT 4
Political Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2020

CONTACT INFORMATION
3731 Old Julian Road
Julian, NC 27283
(336) 451-7169 (C)
(336) 674-2660 (H)
abranson@guilfordcountync.gov


Justin Conrad

Justin Conrad portrait2018 Vice Chair
effective 12/06/17

DISTRICT 3
Political Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2018

CONTACT INFORMATION
1717 Hobbs Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
(336) 641-7717 (O)
jconrad@guilfordcountync.gov


Jeff Phillips

Jeff Phillips portraitDISTRICT 5
Political Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2020

CONTACT INFORMATION
6108 Mountain Brook Road
Greensboro, NC 27455
(336) 337-2955 (C)
jphillips@guilfordcountync.gov


Carolyn Q. Coleman

Carolyn Q. Coleman portraitDISTRICT 7
Political Party: Democrat
Term Expires: 2018

CONTACT INFORMATION
5513 Stonebridge Road
Pleasant Garden, NC 27313
(336) 641-7670 (O)
(336) 202-0316 (C)
ccoleman@guilfordcountync.gov


Katie “Kay” S. Cashion

Katie S. Cashion portraitAT-LARGE
Term Expires: 2018

CONTACT INFORMATION
103 West Greenway Drive
Greensboro, NC 27403
(336) 274-6272 (H)
kcashion@guilfordcountync.gov


J. Carlvena Foster

J. Carlvena Foster portraitDISTRICT 1
Political Party: Democrat
Term Expires: 2018

CONTACT INFORMATION
818 Runyon Drive
High Point, NC 27260
(336) 365-0692
cfoster@guilfordcountync.gov


Hank Henning

Hank Henning portraitDISTRICT 6
Political Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2020

CONTACT INFORMATION
3811 Wildwood Court
High Point, NC 27265
(336) 708-6913 (C)
hhenning@guilfordcountync.gov


Alan Perdue

Alan Perdue portraitDISTRICT 2
Political Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2018

CONTACT INFORMATION
5515 Old Randleman Road
Greensboro, NC 27406
(336) 451-6707 (mobile)
aperdue@guilfordcountync.gov


Melvin “Skip” Alston

Melvin Alston portraitDISTRICT 8
Political Party: Democrat
Term Expires: 2018*
*NCGS 153A-27.1

CONTACT INFORMATION
2705 W. Vandalia Road
Road Greensboro, NC 27405
(336) 324-3515
Salston1@guilfordcountync.gov